How Facebook, Twitter differ on labelling Donald Trump’s US election posts

first_imgTwitter opted not to label the tweet. A spokeswoman said it was unclear what Trump was referencing by “a big WIN.” I will be making a statement tonight. A big WIN!— Donald J. Trump (@realDonaldTrump) November 4, 2020Wednesday 12:49am ET (11:19am IST) – TRUMP: “We are up BIG, but they are trying to STEAL the Election. We will never let them do it. Votes cannot be cast after the Polls are closed!”Facebook placed a label below the post: “Final results may be different from initial vote counts as ballot counting will continue for days or weeks.”- Advertisement – Wednesday 1:21am ET (11:51am IST) – TRUMP (in live video): “Frankly, we did win this election…This is a major fraud on our nation.”Facebook placed a label below the video: “Final results may be different from initial vote counts as ballot counting will continue for days or weeks.”Twitter opted not to label the tweet, saying clips of a press conference did not violate its policy and noting that numerous press organisations carried the video.Wednesday 10:04am ET (8:34pm IST) – TRUMP: “Last night I was leading, often solidly, in many key States, in almost all instances Democrat run & controlled. Then, one by one, they started to magically disappear as surprise ballot dumps were counted. VERY STRANGE, and the ‘pollsters’ got it completely & historically wrong!”Facebook placed a label below the post: “Final results may be different from initial vote counts as ballot counting will continue for days or weeks.”Twitter hid the tweet, requiring a user to click to view it and limiting replies. Its label stated: “Some or all of the content shared in this Tweet is disputed and might be misleading about an election or other civic process.” How come every time they count Mail-In ballot dumps they are so devastating in their percentage and power of destruction?— Donald J. Trump (@realDonaldTrump) November 4, 2020Wednesday 10:35am ET (9:05pm IST) – TRUMP: “WHAT IS THIS ALL ABOUT” (quote-tweet of claim questioning the legitimacy of ballot returns in Michigan)Twitter hid the quoted tweet, requiring a user to click to view it and limiting replies, but did not label Trump’s post.The comment did not appear on Facebook.Wednesday 11:55am ET (10:25pm IST) – TRUMP: “They are finding Biden votes all over the place — in Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, and Michigan. So bad for our Country!”Twitter did not label the tweet. Here is a sampling of how the companies handled Trump’s posts starting on election night:Wednesday 12:45am ET (11:15am IST) – TRUMP: “I will be making a statement tonight. A big WIN!”Facebook placed a label below the post: “Votes are being counted. The winner of the 2020 US Presidential Election has not been projected.”- Advertisement – They are working hard to make up 500,000 vote advantage in Pennsylvania disappear — ASAP. Likewise, Michigan and others!— Donald J. Trump (@realDonaldTrump) November 4, 2020Twitter hid the tweet, requiring a user to click to view it and limiting replies. Its label stated: “Some or all of the content shared in this Tweet is disputed and might be misleading about an election or other civic process.” They are finding Biden votes all over the place — in Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, and Michigan. So bad for our Country!— Donald J. Trump (@realDonaldTrump) November 4, 2020The comment did not appear on Facebook.Wednesday 12:01pm ET (10:31pm IST) – TRUMP: “They are working hard to make up 500,000 vote advantage in Pennsylvania disappear — ASAP. Likewise, Michigan and others!”Facebook placed a label below the post: “Election officials follow strict rules when it comes to ballot counting, handling and reporting.” Social media companies put warning labels on multiple posts by President Donald Trump that falsely claimed victory in the US election and pushed unfounded allegations about the counting of legitimate ballots.The companies differ in how directly they challenge false statements. Twitter labelled tweets as “misleading” and limited how they could be shared and seen. Facebook acted on more posts but did not describe the information as misleading or limit how they could be shared or seen.- Advertisement – Wednesday 10:17am ET (8:47pm IST) – TRUMP: “How come every time they count Mail-In ballot dumps they are so devastating in their percentage and power of destruction?”Facebook placed a label below the post: “As expected, election results will take longer this year. Millions of people across the U.S. voted by mail, and mail ballots take longer to count.”Twitter did not label the tweet. – Advertisement – Twitter hid the tweet, requiring a user to click to view it and limiting replies. Its label stated: “Some or all of the content shared in this Tweet is disputed and might be misleading about an election or other civic process.”last_img read more

First Cazin Semi-Marathon on 10th August

first_imgFirst Cazin Semi Marathon will be held on 10th August, with the support of the municipality, the event is organized by the Athletic club “Tempo”. The only announcement of the first Cazin’s semi-marathon raised the interest of fans of the movement, running and healthy lifestyle. About 90 applications have already come to the address of the club.There are planned several disciplines – from attractive race of the youngest kids who will run one kilometer, fast walking between the long five kilometers to the semi-marathon length of 21 kilometers.(Source: Fena)last_img read more

Water polo Tournament “Sarajevo Champions Challenge”

first_imgSarajevo – at the Olympic pool “Otoka”, from 12th to 14th September, the 6th International Water polo Tournament “Sarajevo champions challenge 2014” will be held.Earlier, the teams which participated at the tournaments were: Crvena zvezda Beograd, Mladost Zagreb, Jug Dubrovnik, Primorac Kotor, Jadran Herceg Novi, Jadran Split, Vasas Budapest, Spandau Berlin, Rabotnički Skopje, Cattaro Kotor, Vojvodina Novi Sad, and the teams of Macedonia and Slovenia.At this year’s tournament some eminent clubs will participate: Jadran Herceg Novi, Jadran Split, KINEF Saint Petersburg and Radnički Kragujevac.(Source: Fena / photo: avaz.ba)last_img read more

Wellington Police Notes: Thursday, April 3, 2014

first_imgWellington police notes for Thursday, April 03, 2014:•8:00 a.m. Officers  investigated the report of a missing person.•9:27 a.m. Officers investigated criminal damage to windows and siding in the 900 block S. A, Wellington.•11:11 a.m. Officers took report of a purse/id.•11:57 a.m. Officers investigated a child in need of care in the 2000 block of N. A.•3:18 p.m. Ty M. Carlson, 18, Wellington was issued a notice to appear charged with speeding 40 mph in a 30 mph zone. (radar)•4:26 p.m. Officers investigated a battery in the 600 block of E. Harvey.•3:30 p.m.  Officers investigated a non-injury accident in the 1100 block of N. A., involving a vehicle operated by Mary K. Buzzell, 65, Wellington and a fence owned by Sonic Drive In.•4:33 p.m.  Officers investigated the report of a runaway in the 700 block of W. 3rd. The person was located.last_img read more